Shirohige’s Cream Puff Factory!

I am finally in Japan! I’ve got my to-do list and the first item was ‘Shirohige’s Cream Puff Factory’! Like ZUC.CCH.ERO I found out about this lovely cafe through instagram. I was quite intrigued by it and did some more research. I found some articles claiming that it was owned by member of the Miyazaki family, and some said not but- what they all on agreed upon was how good the cream puffs tasted. The cafe is located about a 5-7 minute walk from Setagaya Daita Station. It’s hidden in a quiet suburban neighbourhood,  with lots of tree lined alleyways, all reminders of typical Miyazaki films.

unnamed.jpg

Shirohige Cream puff Factory souvenirs.jpg

The cafe has two floors, the first is small take-away/ gift shop where you can buy biscuits, and takeaway cream puffs. The second floor is the proper cafe. The cafe opens at about 10:30am every day, and is only closed on Tuesdays. I arrived at about 11:30, and it was moderately busy. I was asked to sit outside to cafe as the upstairs room was getting too packed. The flavours of the cream puffs change but when I visited they had chocolate, peach, matcha & azuki bean and mocha. I ended up choosing the chocolate flavoured Totoro, and also ordering some pineapple juice! To be honest, my expectations for the cream puff were pretty low. I figured it would just be cute but not taste good – boy was I wrong. This was absolutely delicious! It was quite a hot day and the chocolate inside was perfectly cooled, with a nice crisp outside. I wanted to buy another one but wasn’t sure if I could finish it! Overall it ended up costing about $8 AU – an incredibly decent price!

The staff at Shirohige are incredibly friendly, and enjoy the visitors they get. For me, I didn’t find it a big problem to get to the cafe, however if you are rushing for time, it is a bit out of the way. If you’re a Miyazaki fan it is definitely a must see, but not something for everyone’s travel list!

 

One thought on “Shirohige’s Cream Puff Factory!

  1. Pingback: I’m in Japan! Post Round Up #1 – Two Happy Cats

Leave a Reply

